Farewell, Forrest ­ and see you around

Farewell, Forrest – and see you around

I’ve known Forrest for the past couple of years….although I would have liked that, can’t say I was a close friend….but can truly say that he did have a big impact on me and I will miss him.

From the get go Forrest had this fantastic combination of being focused and at the same time friendly. Open and super straight-forward. No games, no nonsense but really personal. Serious when he needed to be but always ready for a funny comment – and always with that sparkle in his eyes. A genuinely likeable person.

I was never surprised to get a call from Forrest for input&ideas for direction of our joint activities – and it never surprised me that Forrest would always accept my calls when I needed advice or help. He seemed to have infinite patience and wanting to get the best out of the people he worked with. I for one benefitted greatly from this. I wish there could be a way of repaying him.

Last time we met he talked about his family and the decisions he had made to give even more focus to what was most important to him in life – the love of his family, his kids and his wife. It seems almost unbearable that he was not allowed more time….but what I would imagine is typical Forrest – and much to the contrary of many of us that never get to it – he followed through on his plans. He was committed and we could all learn from this.

So, farewell Forrest, and see you around. I really look forward to it.

Best

Christian

Christian Tang-Jespersen